Currently Reading:

Romancing the Werewolf: Gail Carriger
My Lady Jane : Hand, Meadows, and Ashton

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Heart of Iron

Title: Heart of Iron
Author: Ashley Poston
Rating:  5/5

Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?

My Thoughts:
How could I not love this book... at times I totally yelled at what was happening in it but I loved it. I love this space/classics retellings that are being released and won't stop reading these. My the characters are so colorful. I don't even know who is my favorte in this story. Di, Anna, Robb, and Jax were just perfect even with their flaws they make a perfect team. Love it and can't wait to read more from Ashley Poston of course and everyone out there read this book... like now!

It's like Anastasia in Space with a twist of Firefly

Saturday, February 24, 2018

TV Series : Bates Motel

Title: Bates Motel
Rating: 4/5

A contemporary prequel to Psycho, giving a portrayal of how Norman Bates' psyche unravels through his teenage years, and how deeply intricate his relationship with his mother, Norma, truly is.

My Review: Wow, even those slow parts the other parts make up for it. Freddie Highmore is a great actor and the end made me cry, poor Norman... they made him that way! 

Friday, February 23, 2018

The Fed-Up Cow

Title: The Fed-Up Cow
Author: by 

Hilda is FED-UP with being a cow. Spending all day doing not much but moo. There has to be something more she can do. 

So she decides to be a sheep... 
... then a pig 
... and even a chicken. 

Is the grass any greener on the other side? 

Join Hilda, the fed-up cow, on her voyage of self-discovery in this daft but timeless story, written in rhyme.

Saturday, February 17, 2018

NG Reads - March/April

The following are books I have to tried and review for the next 2 months :)

It takes a Coven : Carol J. Perry
Chaotic Good : Whitney Gardner
The Radical Element
Risen : Cole Gibsen

Reclaiming Shilo Snow : Mary Weber
If I live : Terri Blackstock
Surprise Me : Sophie Kinsella
Dimension Drift Prequel : Christina Bauer
Ash Princess : Laura Sebastian
From the Earth to the Shadows : Amanda Hocking
His Wicked Charm : Candace Camp
Bad Mermaids Make Waves : Sibeal Pounder
Moonrise : Sarah Crossan

Thursday, February 15, 2018

The Renaissance Club Book Tour

The Renaissance Club
By Rachel Dacus
Fiery Seas Publishing
January 23, 2018
Time Travel Romance

May Gold, college adjunct, often dreams about the subject of her master’s thesis - Gianlorenzo Bernini. In her fantasies she’s in his arms, the wildly adored partner of the man who invented the Baroque.

But in reality, May has just landed in Rome with her teaching colleagues and older boyfriend who is paying her way. She yearns to unleash her passion and creative spirit, and when the floor under the gilded dome of St Peter’s basilica rocks under her feet, she gets her chance. Walking through the veil that appears, she finds herself in the year 1624, staring straight into Bernini’s eyes. Their immediate and powerful attraction grows throughout May’s tour of Italy. And as she continues to meet her ethereal partner, even for brief snatches of time, her creativity and confidence blossom. All the doorways to happiness seem blocked for May-all except the shimmering doorway to Bernini’s world.

May has to choose: stay in her safe but stagnant existence, or take a risk. Will May’s adventure in time ruin her life or lead to a magical new one?

Buy Links

ISBN: 978-1-946143-41-9  ~  eBook  ~  $6.99
ISBN: 978-1-946143-42-6  ~  Paperback  ~  $16.99

Amazon  ~  Barnes & Noble  ~  Kobo  ~  iBooks

~  Praise for The Renaissance Club  ~
Enchanting, rich and romantic…a poetic journey through the folds of time. In THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, passion, art, and history come together in this captivating tale of one woman’s quest to discover her true self and the life she’s meant to lead. Rachel Dacus deftly crafts a unique and spellbinding twist to the time-traveling adventure that’s perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon. — Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author
The Renaissance Club is a beautifully written story about a woman torn between two worlds—the present and the distant past. This time-travel adventure kept me guessing until the end about which world May would choose, and if that choice would be the right one. Highly recommended for lovers of time travel fiction or anyone looking for a compelling story about a woman trying to find happiness. — Annabelle Costa, Author of The Time Traveler’s Boyfriend.

The Renaissance Club shimmers with beauty, poetry, and art. Author Rachel Dacus sweeps her readers away to Italy with her, lifting the senses with the sights, sounds, and tastes of that stunning country; imparting her deep knowledge of Renaissance and Baroque art while immersing the reader in a gorgeously romantic story. This book is time travel at its best! — Georgina Young-Ellis, author of The Time Mistress Series

About the Author:
Rachel Dacus is the daughter of a bipolar rocket engineer who blew up a number of missiles during the race-to-space 1950’s. He was also an accomplished painter. Rachel studied at UC Berkeley and has remained in the San Francisco area. Her most recent book, Gods of Water and Air, combines poetry, prose, and a short play on the afterlife of dogs. Other poetry books are Earth Lessons and Femme au Chapeau.
Her interest in Italy was ignited by a course and tour on the Italian Renaissance. She’s been hooked on Italy ever since. Her essay “Venice and the Passion to Nurture” was anthologized in Italy, A Love Story: Women Write About the Italian Experience. When not writing, she raises funds for nonprofit causes and takes walks with her Silky Terrier. She blogs at Rocket Kid Writing.

Social Media:

Friday, February 2, 2018

Manga Monthly - Jan 2018

So last month I read 7 volumes of different mangas... and I'll cover them here in one post. Once a month a new post for the manga... YAY!

Bungo Stray Dogs , Volume 1

Bungo Stray Dogs , Volume 2

Natsuki Takaya

Natsuki Takaya

Tokyo Boys and Girls, Volume 1
By: Miki Aihara
Mimori Kosaka's dreams comes true when she's accepted to the Meidai Attached High School and gets to wear their super-fashionable uniform! She's excited about having a fun freshman year, but things don't turn out as effortlessly as she had hoped.

The school year starts off well when mimori befriends the beautiful Nana, but things quickly turn sour for her when she is chosen to be the class representative. Through a series of unfortunate events, she finds herself the focus of attention of three boys and her teachers for all the wrong reasons! Mimori is reunited with Atsushi, a boy she knew in elementary school - and it turns out he despises her for allegedly bullying him in their grade school days. In fact, he plans to exact a little revenge!

Honey Hunt, Volume 1
By: Miki Aihara
Life's not easy when you're living in the shadow of your famous parents. Can shy Yura, the daughter of an award-winning composer and a world-renowned actress, find the courage to step out on her own now that her super-celebrity parents are getting divorced?
The media is abuzz when word gets out that Yura's mega-famous parents are splitting up. Already accustomed to the daily pressure of being the child of celebrities, Yura's frustration explodes in a rant against her parents--and her heated words end up being broadcasted live on national TV! When a powerful talent scout hears her impassioned declaration, he offers to represent her. The door to showbiz is now flung open for this timid wallflower--will she try to become an actress in her own right?
My Review: So far this is a very cute series, loving everything about it! And Also rereads for me!

Liselotte Witch's Forest, volume 1

By: Natsuki Takaya
They say that in a place far, far away; in the east, of the east, of the east… there is a forest where witches dwell. They are said to bestow blessings or inflict curses, brew potions in steaming cauldrons, practice their magic… and fly their brooms into the night sky. This is where Liselotte has decided to live, in the small chance that she may one day revisit a certain person from her past – but only if the witches don’t get to her first…

My Review: So far this is a very cute series, Mysterious!


The Ancient Magus's Bride, Volume 7
By: Kore Yamazaki
Lullaby, and Good Night...

After mistakenly putting Elias under a sleeping spell, Chise can't find a way to wake him up! She turns to Angie for help, and brews a potion meant to undo the spell--but the process is so exhausting, Chise ends up falling asleep herself. Upon entering a dream world, she crosses paths with the person she least expected: Cartaphilus. But something's off--the amoral alchemist seems to have lost his threatening edge. Meanwhile, in the outside world, trouble is brewing...on a dragon-sized scale!

My Review: So far this is a very cute series, loving everything about it! I have to start the Anime and see if it follows it! So far waiting on my library!


Fushigi Yugi: The Mysterious Play, Volume 1
By: Yuu Watase
When best friends Miaka and Yui open the pages of an ancient Chinese book, they are transported into the Universe of the Four Gods, a parallel world to ancient China. Now, to escape schoolwork and family problems, Miaka flees to the parallel world, only to find a lot more danger and romance than she bargained for.

My Review: Follows the Anime, but I don't like it anymore- maybe I grew up or something! Annoying characters!

Friday, January 19, 2018


Title: Buffy the Vampire Slayer FAQ
Author: David Bushman, Arthur Smith
Rating: 2/5
Reviewed for Edelweiss

Buffy the Vampire Slayer redefined what was possible for teen-centric TV, built an extraordinary strong bond of love and loyalty with its passionately devoted fans, and launched the meteoric writing and directing career of creator Joss Whedon. Buffy the Vampire Slayer FAQ takes a comprehensive look at the groundbreaking series, giving both Buffy experts and newbies fresh insights into the creation and production of the show, in-depth analysis of the show's complex mythology and thematic concerns, and lots of irreverent cracks at Riley's expense (love ya, buddy). Readers will learn secrets even the Watchers Council doesn't know, relive their favorite moments from the show, and settle once and for all: Angel or Spike?

My Review: 
I loved BtVS, watched it all and of course I even use my email since 7th grade which is BtVS based. But reading the facts of the show was hard... might just go back and watch it... yup sorry wasn't quite into to the book! But the answer to the question about Angel or Spike... Either. She moved on! Gurl Power!